Guest Columnist Jackie Carpenter: My Son, Acquitted Of Murder At Last! (Part 5)

 

Jackie_carpenter_photo_2

Jackie Carpenter of Ellaville, Georgia, is the mother of two sons, Jim, 35, a pastor, and Jason, 32. She is the author of “The Bridge: Between Cell Block A and a Miracle Is Psalm 91” and its sequel: “Georgia Justice (Journey To Faith).” Both books chronicle a 10-month ordeal entailing her son Jason’s murder trial and her gradual rediscovery of her deep faith in God. The two books are being turned into a movie, “A Cry For Justice,” due for release this Fall. The Carpenters also have four grandchildren: Hannah, Anna Grace, Patience and JJ. For more details, please see www.bridgetoamiracle.com 

Dear Jason,

Ten months after the shooting came your murder trial. You stood charged with felony murder, three counts of aggravated assault and one count of possession of a firearm. Four of the five charges would send you to prison for as long as 30 years.

The last advice you gave me from the attorneys before we went to court was this: “Tell your mom when she comes to court on Monday to leave that Bible of hers at home, because if there is a non-believer on the Jury and they see her Bible,that alone can send you to prison for 30 years.”

Back into my prayer closet I went.  “What do you want me to do God?” I asked. 

“Jackie,” He said, “you have told everyone you are going to get a miracle through Psalm 91. So the question is this: Do you want Me to show up with 100% and free Jason on all five charges, or only on two or three?” 

I said,” Oh, God I need you to show up with 100%.”

He said, “Then you had better show up with 100%, too.”

On day four of the murder trial, the jury reached a verdict and delivered it to the judge. Larry was squeezing my hand tightly as I was squeezing my Bible and Psalm 91. I felt as though I was about to hyperventilate.  You stood there between your two attorneys with the rest of your life dangling over a cliff – a sight I will never forget. Oh, how I wished I could swap places with you.

At 3:40 p.m. on April 16th 2010, in that third-floor courtroom, the jury read the verdict. God walked down the aisle and granted us our miracle. Not guilty on all five counts.

 

Jackie_carpenter_photo_5

 

Jackie_carpenter_photo_4
Leave a Reply

