Thanksgiving Guest Columnist Jill Smokler: Thanks for Your Giggles, Wet Kisses And Purity of Heart

64048456_1
Jill Smokler, a mother of three in Baltimore, blogs about motherhood — the good, the bad and the scary — at scarymommy.com. Her first book, Confessions of a Scary Mommy, is due out in April from Simon and Schuster.

Dear Lily,

I am so thankful to have been blessed with a girl. I am thankful for the way you take care of your brothers, even if they don’t always appreciate it. I am thankful that your hair requires little combing, because mornings are tough enough as they are. I am thankful that you are polite and well-behaved and I never need to worry about your behavior on play-dates and sleepovers. I am thankful for your love of learning and that you are anxious and happy to go to school each and every day. I am thankful for your spunk, even if it makes things difficult sometimes. I am thankful for your heart, which is the purest one I know.

I am so utterly thankful to be your mother. Always.

Dear Ben,

I am thankful to have been blessed with a boy, even though I was sure I wouldn’t know what to do with one. I am thankful for your fierce hugs, even if I need to bribe you for them sometimes. I am thankful for the kind of friend you are, both to your schoolmates and your brother and sister. I am thankful for how concerned you are for other people, sometimes even more than yourself. I am thankful that you love peanut butter so much, since without it, you would exist almost solely on carbs. I am thankful that your aim in the bathroom has finally improved. (Kind of.) I am thankful that you resemble me, and I didn’t totally lose the DNA wars. I am thankful that you love it when I visit your classroom, and I am thankful for your infectious giggle.

I am so utterly thankful to be your mother. Always.

Dear Evan,

I am thankful to have been blessed with a third child, even though I spent my pregnancy worrying that I wouldn’t be able to handle you. I am thankful for your kisses, no matter how wet and messy they may be. I am thankful for the way your face lights up when you see me at school each day, like it’s a surprise to you that I am there. I am thankful for your resilience, because without it, you would need a full body cast. I am thankful for how funny you are, and the laughs you give me constantly. I am thankful for your ability to entertain yourself, for hours at a time. I am thankful for how much you idolize your siblings, and have perfectly rounded out our family. I am thankful that you don’t mind never having worn a new article of clothing, and that you are overjoyed by something as simple as matching pajama tops and bottoms. I am thankful that you willingly play the role of my baby, even though you are quickly growing up.

I am so utterly thankful to be your mother. Always.

Leave a Reply

