New Year’s Eve Guest Columnist David Rosen:You Opened My Eyes So I Can Open Yours

David_rosen_photo

 

David and his family, wife Deborah and daughters Allison, 9, and Jessica, 6, live in Cherry Hill, New Jersey. David has worked in pharmaceutical and healthcare public relations since 1993 and met Bob at an agency where they worked in 1999. After getting caught up in a “workforce reduction” in December, 2008 at Bristol-Myers Squibb, he wandered the earth in search of his next position, and has been doing contract work for Vox Medica in Philadelphia. In 2010 he went back to school to become a New Jersey state certified Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) and answers the call in both Cherry Hill and Berlin, NJ. He’s also a volunteer firefighter.

Dear Allison (Allie) and Jessica (Jess),

When I lost my job three years ago, I initially thought the worst. But the two of you helped show me there’s much more to life than just work. I gained a new perspective on life and what’s truly important.

In 2012, I resolve to be the cornerstone of your lives, just as the two of you are the center of my universe. I will be there for you. I will reinforce your strengths. I will pick you up when you fall and help you understand what happened and how you can give yourself a better chance for success the next time. I want to do for you what you unconsciously did for me when I was at my lowest point.

When you encouraged me to volunteer at your school, you opened my eyes to something I had lost sight of: my desire to help others. I had become so consumed over the years by my work that I forgot how much I love to help others. So I began to volunteer with the Fire Department. And then, before I knew it, I fulfilled a dream I had as a teenager. I became an emergency medical technician, or EMT.

Your interest in my new career and your reactions to the stories I tell you about the people I meet and help really bring home the impact I’m making on others. I hope you’re learning from my actions and will become people who look out for others and lend a helping hand to those in need. If I can help shape you into caring, concerned women who “pay it forward,” I will have done much to prepare you for this crazy world we live in.

Right now I’m sure you both think your mother and I are sometimes too hard on you. That’s because we want you to learn from our mistakes. It’s also because we understand that while other people will offer advice, ultimately you control your own lives and make your own choices.

We want you to give your all to everything you try, and to keep your chin up when facing disappointment and learn how to deal with it. Life can be very tough. The next time you’re up to bat – you know I had to throw in a baseball reference — you’ll be prepared hit all the curves thrown at you.

Love, Daddy

P.S. — Tomorrow see New Year’s Eve guest column from “No Drama Mama.”

Leave a Reply

