Guest columnist David Adelman: A Letter To My Unborn Children

Adelman

David Adelman is the founder and CEO of Reel Tributes, which turns personal history into artistic, broadcast-quality films. Watch sample films, and learn more about how Reel Tributes can help create your documentary of a lifetime, at www.reeltributes.com. Recently he also started a blog, www.reeltributes.com/view

To my unborn children,

Who knows when you’ll be reading this letter. As I write, I have no plans to have children for a few years. But it’s something Melissa and I talk about, and we’re excited for the day when our family will grow from 2 to 3 to 4 (and more?).

So it may seem odd that I’m writing you a letter long before you can read, or, for that matter, before I know your name or even your gender. But it all makes sense, because family history is a critical part of my life. I know it’s never too early to start telling you stories. Hopefully this will be the first of many. And I truly hope that you carry on the tradition by sharing stories with your children, and they tell their children, and on and on for generations yet to come.

For the first story, I’ll tell you a little about why I founded my company, Reel Tributes. It all goes back to Grandma Eunice, your great-grandmother. Eunice was a force. She was a fireball. Even in her 80s and 90s she could remember the smallest details of her life, and the lives of those around her. If there was an ear nearby, a story wasn’t far off.

When she died at the age of 94, my mom, your grandmother Paula, honored her love of storytelling by putting together a film about Eunice’s life and the history of the Brill-Meltzer family. She spent 3 months working on it, full-time. A “labor of love”, she called it. When she gathered everyone together to premier the film, the response was incredible. Four generations together in one room, watching the pictures, hearing the stories, and jumping in with their own memories and jokes…It brought the family closer than it had been in years, and turned Eunice’s passing into a celebration of her life and of our family history.

I left that room thinking, “Wouldn’t it be great to give other families the opportunity to experience that joy?” And so I spent the next few months figuring out how to turn that idea into a reality.

That reality is now called Reel Tributes. We produce films like the one your grandmother made, combining interviews, pictures, home videos, and music into professionally edited documentaries.

So far, so good: our first few customers had the same reaction our family did. “There wasn’t a dry eye in the room when we premiered it,” one early client told me. Hopefully by the time you’re reading this, thousands of families around the country—heck, around the world—will have the pleasure of watching a Reel Tribute filled with their own incredible stories.

Only time will tell how Reel Tributes’ story will play out. But one thing is certain: I’ll keep sharing and recording my own adventures, so when the time comes for the Adelman Reel Tribute, we’ll be ready.

Until next time, with love,

David

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

