GUEST MOM LAURA ROSSI: TWINS SPELL WET KISSES AND MAGIC

Laura_rossi_photo

Laura Rossi, mother of two, is founder/owner of Laura Rossi Public Relations (www.laurarossipublicrelations.com). A book publishing and public relations professional, she has worked at many publishing houses, including Random House and W.W. Norton & Company with authors such as Terry McMillan and Elmore Leonard.  In September, her contributution to the collection MAKE MINE A DOUBLE will appear.  Laura’s blog, My So-Called Sensory Life: 365 Unexpected Gifts From Motherhood(http://www.mysocalledsensorylife.com/), is a Babble.com Top 25 Mom Bloghttp://www.babble.com/babble-50/mommy-bloggers/nominate-a-blogger/.

Dear J and M,

If I could, I’d thank you both 365 times on Mother’s Day!

Since I don’t want to spend the day repeating myself (I do that the other 364 days of the year!), this Sunday I will silently celebrate each of the 365 gifts you gave me since Mother’s Day 2010.   My heart overflows with love when I think about all the things you two have given me this year.

As you both know, I began my blog one year ago, after Dad and I received some unexpected medical news about you, M (and your special needs).  In that moment, I saw the world through your innocent, brave, hopeful and beautiful eyes, and with lots of confusing thoughts racing through my head I made the decision to commit to finding a daily gift — the virtual silver lining each day no matter what–from you and your twin sister, J.

And so, with you both at my side, I set out on my gift mission (silently chanting your gift-receiving mantra “You get what you get and you don’t get upset!”).  The only way I can explain it is to tell you that I felt like you both do on Christmas morning–every single day!  I couldn’t wait to tear off the wrapping paper, untangle the glittery ribbons and open your unexpected gifts.  Of course, these gifts weren’t real gifts like perfume or jewelry and usually you didn’t know you were giving me a gift.   I quickly learned that gifts you can’t hold in your hand but that you hold in your heart are small miracles. 

The gifts have been unique, personal and intimate.  When I think about the variety, I’m breathless.  Of course, I expected surprises, but what I didn’t account for was that in the course of just one year — more than anything else on my motherhood journey — your daily gifts changed and redefined my life, shaping it to fit and embrace the unexpected, something I have never been able to do. 

As twins, you are both connected in a special way.  As individuals, I’m in awe of your uniqueness.  And because we are a family with a special needs child, your daily gifts have taught me how to find gratitude even on the tough days.  Your beautiful, simple gifts have transformed my appreciation of motherhood, my parenting and most of all my love for you.  J and M you’ve made me a better Mom and a better person.   Thank you 365 times!

You always ask to read my blog (and to help write it!) and you are tireless in your requests for a list of my favorites gifts.  It’s so hard to pick (there are 365 after all!), but these I’ll always cherish: 

Wet Kisses

Waking Up Before Dawn

Silence

Patience (more of it from me)

Finger crossing

Hand-holding

Magic

On Mother’s Day 2011, I will thank you for your 365 gifts and for proving to me that even though we don’t always get what we want, we do get what we need.

I love you!  You are and will always be my greatest gifts.

Love, xoxoxox, Mom

 

Leave a Reply

